About Us

Mission Statement

Franklin County's Department of Public Safety is dedicated to providing Emergency Services, to include, but not limited to, Fire, Emergency Medical Services (EMS), Animal Control, and Emergency Management that are delivered in a timely and efficient manner by well-trained and dedicated career and volunteer professionals.

What Is Public Safety?

The Department of Public Safety was created by County ordinance in 1988 to oversee four areas of safety concerns within the County:

  • Animal Control
  • Emergency Management
  • Emergency Medical Services
  • Fire

The Department also oversees and works with 10 volunteer fire companies and 9 volunteer rescue squads. While the County relies heavily on professional volunteers to answer approximately 7,000 EMS calls and 3,500 fire calls annually, Public Safety also supplements the system with career fire and EMS providers.

Public Protection Classification

Franklin County Public Safety currently has an Insurance Service Offices Public Protection Classification (ISO-PPC) of 4/4Y, for the entire county.